Arizona Drug Possession Lawyer
Arizona Drug Possession Laws
What is Possession of a Dangerous Drug?
ARS 13-3407 prohibits a person from knowingly possessing or using a dangerous drug. Arizona law provides a lengthy list of what qualifies as a dangerous drug, but most often, these cases involve methamphetamine, cocaine, fentanyl, opium, mushrooms, and other types of prescription painkillers and antidepressants. A violation of this statute is a Class 4 felony. If the drug involved in the case is not methamphetamine or amphetamine, and you have never been convicted of a felony, the judge will have the option of classifying the charge down to a class 1 misdemeanor.
Proposition 200 & Possession or Use of Dangerous Drugs
In 1996, Arizona voters passed Proposition 200. Under Prop 200, judges are prohibited from sending first- or second-time nonviolent drug offenders to prison, even if these convictions are for felony offenses. The judge may only sentence the defendant to a term of probation and mandatory drug treatment.
TASC is an adult deferred prosecution program that takes one to two years to complete. During TASC, you will be required to complete group counseling, self-help meetings, and substance abuse counseling. You will also be subject to random urine tests. The total fees for this program run between $2,000 to $2,500. It is imperative that you hire an experienced Arizona drug possession attorney who can help you navigate the TASC program and its strict requirements. Once TASC is completed, your case will be completely dismissed.
If you have any prior drug conviction for sale or transportation of drugs, promoting prison contraband, driving under the influence of drugs, or any methamphetamine drug-related offense, then you are ineligible under Prop 200 and could face jail and/or prison time.
Non-Prop 200 Punishments
If you are not eligible under Prop 200, then the following sentence could be imposed for the possession or use of dangerous drugs, which is a Class 4 felony:
- First offense: Probation with up to 1 year in jail; If the judge orders prison then 1 to 3.75 years in prison
- Second offense: 2 to 7.5 years in prison
- Third offense: 6 to 15 years in prison
In addition to probation and possible jail/prison time, you will be subject to fines, court-ordered counseling, and community service hours. Also, if the amount of drugs in your possession is greater than the statutory “threshold” amounts, you could be charged and prosecuted for possession with the intent to sell.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia Arizona
Arizona Drug Paraphernalia Laws
If you are not eligible under Prop 200, you will be sentenced to a Class 6 felony for possession of drug paraphernalia.
You could face the following punishments:
- First offense: Probation with up to 1 year in jail; if the judge orders prison then 4 months to 2 years in prison
- 1 historical prior felony conviction: 9 months to 2.75 years in prison
- 2 historical prior felony convictions: 2.25 years to 5.75 years in prison
Arrested for possessing drug paraphernalia? Contact our Arizona drug possession lawyers today!
Arizona Possession of Marijuana Laws
Despite a national trend legalizing the possession of marijuana for personal use, Arizona still prohibits its possession under ARS 13-3405(A)(1) where it states, “a person shall not knowingly possess or use marijuana.” This law also prohibits a person from possessing marijuana buds, wax, THC concentrates, and edibles.
Under this statute, a person will be charged with possession for personal use so long as they possess less than two pounds of marijuana. Therefore, if you are arrested and are found to be in possession of two pounds or more of marijuana, you will face a more severe penalty because Arizona law will presume that you are in possession with the intent to sell.
Non-Prop 200 Punishments for Possession of Marijuana
If you are not eligible under Prop 200, you could face the following punishments for possessing less than 2 pounds of marijuana (a Class 6 felony):
- Probation with up to 1 year in jail, or 4 months to 2 years in prison
- If you have 1 historical prior felony conviction, you could face 9 months to 2.75 years in prison
- If you have 2 historical prior felony convictions, you could face 2.25 years to 5.75 years in prison
Possessing marijuana with two or more pounds, but less than four pounds (Class 5 felony):
- Mandatory prison from 6 months to 2.5 years
- If you have 1 historical prior felony conviction, you could face 1 year to 3.75 years in prison
- If you have 2 historical prior felony convictions, you could face 3 years to 7.5 years in prison
Possession of four pounds or more of marijuana (Class 4 felony):
- Mandatory 1 year to 3.75 years in prison
- If you have 1 historical prior felony conviction, you could face 2.25 years to 7.5 years in prison
- If you have 2 historical prior felony convictions, you could face 6 years to 15 years in prison
In addition to substantial jail/prison time, you would have to pay substantially high mandatory fines and fees, court-ordered counseling, and community service hours.
Avoid these high penalties and protect your future. Contact Oliverson & Huss Law PLLC at (480) 351-2228 for a free consultation with our Arizona drug possession lawyers now.
Arizona Possession with Intent to Sell Laws
Under ARS 13-3407(A)(2) and ARS 13-3407(A)(7), it is unlawful to knowingly possess or transport a dangerous drug for sale. In determining whether someone is possessing or transporting a drug for sale, the State looks at the amount of drug in their possession. If the amount of drug in the person’s possession meets or exceeds the “threshold amount” defined in the statute, it is presumed that the person possessed the drug with the intent to sell them.
Arizona Drug Sale Possession Threshold
The following are the threshold amounts defined in Arizona law by the type of drug:
- Methamphetamine: 9 grams
- Powdered cocaine: 9 grams
- Rock cocaine: 3/4 gram
- Heroin: 1 gram
- LSD: 1/2 milliliter or 50 dosage units in blotter form
- PCP: 4 grams or 50 milliliters
- Marijuana: more than 2 pounds
Even if the threshold amount is not met, the prosecution will look at other factors to try to prove you had the intent to sell.
Arizona Penalties for Possession/Transportation of Drugs for Sale
If the amount was below the threshold amount:
- First offense: Probation with up to 1 year in jail (if probation, you will be required to complete 240 hours of community service). If the judge orders prison, then 3 to 12.5 years in prison.
If the amount is above the threshold amount:
- First offense: 3 to 12.5 years in prison
- 1 prior felony conviction: 4.5 to 23.25 years in prison
- 2 prior felony convictions: 10.5 to 35 years in prison
Do not hesitate to call our Arizona drug possession attorneys at (480) 351-2228 or contact us online to schedule your free consultation today.
Over 40 Years of Collective Experience
Over the length of their careers, the attorneys at Oliverson & Huss have helped thousands of people successfully fight their criminal charges.
Former Prosecutors & a Former Judge
As former prosecutors, police officers and judges, our attorneys have experience on all sides of the law. This special insight allows them to better defend your case.
Highly Communicative & Responsive
Our attorneys will work closely with you, diligently keeping you fully informed and updated on your case from beginning to end.
Team Approach to Your Case
At Oliverson & Huss, you get access to three experienced attorneys who work together to achieve the best possible result for you.
When it comes to defending our clients, we believe two heads are better than one. When you hire us, you get a team of attorneys who will look at your case and offer their perspective in an effort to get you the best possible result.